Certification Program

Ayurveda Foundation Workshop (AFW) - 2 Days

The AFW is a pre-requisite course for the Ayurveda Diet & Lifestyle Counsellor (ADLC) program. This foundation program will set the stage and prepare you to understand the fundamental principles of Ayurveda.  

You will learn the overview of 

– Ayurvedic Concepts and Terminologies

– Panchmahabhuta (PMB) which form the foundation of Ayurveda

– The Functional Principles of Vata, Pitta and Kapha

– The concept of Agni (Digestive fire) and its relationship to Dhatu (Tissue), Mala       (Waste),  Ama (Toxin formation) and Srotas (Channels)

– Prakriti (Body Constitution) and Vikriti (Deviation from your nature)

–  Ayurvedic Nutrition and 6 Taste (Shadrasa)

– Role of Mind in Ayurveda (Manasa Roga)2

Ayurvedic Foundation Workshop (AFW)

The ADLC program is designed to train you to become a Counsellor in the field of diet and lifestyle.  According to Ayurveda each of us has a unique body constitution (Prakriti) and a “one-solution-fits-all” will not work. For example, what is good for a Vata-body type may not necessarily be good for the Kapha body type. Eg garlic has excellent healing properties but is not necessarily good for a Pitta-body type and in fact can cause more harm if consumed by a Pitta aggravated body. All herbs are neither good nor bad, they all are dependent on various factors. 

This AWF foundation workshop prepares you to understand the basic concept of Ayurveda, how it views the human body and how you can use the tools to customise lifestyle and nutrition for yourself and your family. 

Workshop Outline

Overview of Ayurvedic Concepts and Terminologies

This is a highly important foundation for learning Ayurveda or Yoga. When learning these two ancient sciences you must understand the contextual meaning of a word otherwise it can be misunderstood. English language is highly limiting when expressing Sanskrit words which can lead to misinterpretation. For example Dhatu is referred to as body tissues in English when in fact it means “that which holds that body together”. Dhatu is a field for dosha to function. Ayurveda discusses 7 dhatu and when we use English term of “body tissue”, it is misrepresented from a modern perspective and gives the impression that Ayurveda claims to have only 7 body tissues which is not the case. Similarly the word Panchamahabuta (PMB) is referred to as 5 Elements in many English translation when again it limits its explanation. This can lead to criticism since modern Chemistry acknowledges 118 Chemical elements in its periodic table. Therefore, understanding the basic Ayurvedic Concepts and Terminologies will set the groundwork for any lay person to understand Ayurveda and apply its principles. You will also appreciate that you do not need to know Sanskrit or be of Indian Origin to learn Ayurveda. Furthermore, this segment will give you the basic understanding to apply Ayurveda in any cultural setting.

Note: For the purpose of providing the course outline we translate some words simplistically. However you will have a deeper understanding once you complete this workshop

Panchamahabutha (5 States or Existence) and Dosha (Vata, Pitta, Kapha)

The Panchamahabutas (5 States ), the Dosha (Vata Pitta and Kapha) and their attributes (gunas) are the building blocks of Ayurveda and form the foundation of Ayurvedic principles. Food, herb, lifestyle all are seen as dosha aggravating or pacifying.  Here you will learn these basic principles first and how to apply them from and Ayurvedic perspective. Whether you are looking at the world from a Newtonian perspective or Quantum perspective this will concept will help you see the Universe (macrocosm) and your body (microcosm) in its entirety.

Prakriti and Vikriti - An Overview

Body types are a unique concept in Ayurveda is known as Prakriti. Everyone is unique and you have your own unique Prakriti which will then determine which food, lifestyle or treatment is best for you.  You will learn an overview and importance of Prakriti analysis and its significance.

Dhatu (Tissue) and Mala (Excretion) and Srota (Channels), Ama (Toxin)

These concepts are inter-related in the formation and maintenance of a healthy body. 

Agni (Digestive Fire), Ama (Undigested food)

According to Ayurveda digestion is the key to health. Food is transformed into nutrients only when the digestion is at its peak. You will learn the basic concept of the 13 types of digestion (Jatharagni, Dhatwagni, Bhutagni) and how they play a role in nourishing the body

Ayurvedic Nutrition

Ayurvedic Nutrition is not about calorie counting or nutrients and is not just limited to food and water intake. Nourishing According to Ayurveda, Ahara is that which you consume into your body and includes food, breath, emotions and sensory perception. All these factors play a vital role in the nourishment of the body apart from agni. Ayurveda states that if your agni is not in a balanced state, then whatever you consume it will not necessarily nourish your body.  In this section you will learn the difference between Ayurvedic nutrition and conventional nutrition and the need to customise nutrition based on several factors.

Ayurveda and the Mind and Lifestyle

When defining health, Ayurveda does not stop at body but also includes a balanced mind. Ayurvedic study includes a branch known as Manasa Roga or Imbalanced Mind and an imbalance mind can lead to an imbalanced body and vice versa. Recent science is now increasingly recognising the importance of mind in the body’s health. According to Ayurveda food can either nourish or starve your mind. 

Certificate of Attendance : by Ayurveda Association of Singapore (AAOS)


Contact Us

Other Certification Programs